The author starts off this chapter by explaining that in this point of the book, we must now put all of the knoledge that we have learned and put it into action. However, they first explain to us about a very serious topic, procrastination.

I feel that procrastination is a very serious problem that effects most people today. I agree with the author’s point that a large part of it is that people have a fear of failure and feel overwhelmed with whatever they have to do.  However, the one thing that I have learned about how you can get rid of procrastination is this…

Just go do what you need to do. GO, AND DO IT, NOW!

You can spend time thinking and worrying about what you have to do. But when you do this, you begin to think about the problems that you might face, the challenges that will occur, and that is what creates fear and loss of confidence. Also, a big problem a lot of poeple have, myself included, is the want of making something perfect. As filmmakers especially, we must understand that there is no such thing as a perfect film. Our goal should not be to make the best film ever, but it should be just to make a film.

A great piece of advice that I recently heard was from Quentin Tarantino, a personal hero of mine, and I’m sure many of us at Humber. On Charlie Rose, he was asked what should aspiring filmmakers do to get to where you are? He basically said, just go out and make a film, don’t wait for the right time, or the best circumstances because they will never come.  Just go out and do it. This is the kind of mentality that I feel that makes a succsessful filmmaker.

I know that many people in our program suffer from procrastination, myself included, but I hope that this message is something that  can inspire people a little bit, and encourage them to make something great:)

 

 

